Spinach and Cheese Stuffed Shells

Lately I have been thinking a lot about Italian food…  and for some reason I found myself continuously looking up pictures of stuffed shells on Pinterest during breaks in class.  They just looked so perfect and delicious nestled in red sauce and overflowing with cheese.  I hadn’t made them before and was definitely excited to see that I would be able to easily assemble them over the weekend.  In my mind… they were the perfect Sunday dinner.  Delicious.

Here is my version of stuffed shells.  I was lucky enough to have a bag of fresh spinach from my farmer (I love him) this week.  So delish.  I got myself familiar with a few recipes on Pinterest (I had too many to choose from!) and the recipe on the box of the shell pasta.  Here is what I came up with!

Of course I made this recipe with my Chunky Tomato Basil Sauce… I actually made an enormous batch of it and then froze small portions of what I had left over.  But you could use any other red sauce you have.

Spinach and Cheese Stuffed Shells

  • box of jumbo shells
  • 24 ounces (or more!) of tomato sauce
  • 1 1/2 cup ricotta cheese
  • 1 cup shredded Parmesan cheese
  • 8 ounces fresh mozzarella, cut into small pieces
  • 4 tablespoons parsley
  • fresh spinach (I used 2-3 handfuls), chopped
  • 2 tablespoons water
  • salt and pepper
  1. Cook your shell pasta until al dente, drain and set aside to cool on a baking sheet.  Be sure to not leave them in the pot or colander because they might stick together!
  2. Mix together the ricotta, mozzarella, and 2/3 cup of Parmesan cheese.  Add the parsley, spinach, salt and pepper to taste.  I used my Kitchen Aid mixer to save time… and I just love using it!
  3. Next, fill the shells with the cheese combinations.
  4. Grease a baking dish (preferably a 9×13″).  Add half of your sauce and the two tablespoons of water.  Arrange the shells in the pan so that the open side with the delicious cheese oozing out faces up!  Cover the shells with the rest of the sauce and top with the remaining Parmesan cheese.
  5. Bake in the oven at 400 degrees.  Bake until bubbly… about 30-40 minutes.  Enjoy!
Leave a Reply

