Kale Chips

Late last fall I fell in love with kale.  I can honestly say I cannot remember a single time that I ate it growing up.  As far as I know, I have only my farmer to thank for this vegetable romance. The first time I discovered this huge leafy vegetable in my CSA box, I had no idea what it was or how to use it in cooking.  Obviously, my instincts told me to search Pinterest and various other food blogs.

I found many fabulous kale recipes… stay tuned for more to come.  But this one is so quick, easy, and delicious I had to share it.  If you are anything like me, you are a sucker for anything crispy and salty…  be honest. And before you go turning your nose up to my Kale chips, just know that these are guy tested and proven winners.  Actually, these are a favorite snack of my boyfriend.  Promise.

Kale Chips

  • kale
  • olive oil
  • salt
  • pepper
  1. Wash kale in cool water.  Trim away the thick fibrous stem.  Cut the kale into smaller pieces (picture pieces roughly 4×5″).
  2. Place the washed and cut kale on a large baking sheet.  Drizzle lightly with oil.  Be careful not to over oil!  Sprinkle with salt and pepper and then toss lightly around the pan so that everything is coated.
  3. Put the pan in the oven for about 5 minutes at 375 degrees.  When the timer goes off, carefully flip the kale pieces.  Put the pan back in the oven for another 4-5 minutes or so.  This part of the cooking process goes quick.. so be sure to keep an eye on them!
  4. When the kale is light and crisp it is done!  Watch for edges to start to brown… kale chips should be green!
Leave a Reply

