Vanilla Almond Granola

My perfect morning is simple.  I wake up early on my own (no blaring alarms thank you.), cuddle with kitty cat while I’m still waking up, and then settle in on the couch to watch some morning news shows.  When I’m officially awake I start thinking about breakfast.  While you can probably imagine that my weekends would definitely look like this, my week days are a little more rushed.  But just because I am busy in the morning, it does not mean I will skip out on a delicious breakfast!

Image

Now that we are getting into berry season I have been keeping a steady supply in my fridge to accompany my Greek yogurt (definitely an obsession of mine).  Once I’ve sliced my fresh berries and piled them over my yogurt, I can’t help but sprinkle a bit of granola over the top for that extra flavor and crunchy texture.  Lately this has been my go-to breakfast.

This granola recipe is quick and easy … and I bet you already have all the ingredients in your kitchen!  I will make a big batch ahead of time and then store it in an air tight container so that I always have some on hand for breakfast or a quick snack. The honey and almonds give it a great sweet and nutty flavor — delicious!

Vanilla Almond Granola

  • 2 cups oatmeal oats
  • 1/2 cup honey
  • 1/3 cup vegetable oil
  • 1/2 cup almonds, chopped
  • 1/4 cup sugar
  • 2 teaspoons vanilla
  • cinnamon and nutmeg (just a dash of each)

Combine all ingredients.  Spread across a greased cookie sheet.  Bake at 350 degrees for about 30 minutes.  Move the oats around and stir every 5 minutes or so.  Allow the granola to cool, crumble it up, and enjoy!

Leave a Reply

