Banana Bread

This is the last week before my crazy life as a grad student starts up again.  So I’ve been going on a baking and cooking frenzy.  I made this banana bread earlier this week.  So glad I did.  I’ve been enjoying a slice at breakfast… or as a mid afternoon snack… or both!

This is a basic recipe that everyone should have on hand.   The extra bananas in it make it super moist and dense.  Dress it up with the chopped walnuts and/or chocolate chips… or just keep it plain.  Each way is absolutely delicious!

Bananas are a delicious fruit.  They are high in fiber, potassium, and iron (that means your body smiles when you eat them).  They are portable for a great on-the-go snack.  They taste great sliced up in cereal.  Have you ever eat frozen slices of banana? You should.  Last night I tried a chocolate dipped frozen banana for the first time.  DELICIOUS.

So I often find myself buying more bananas than I can consume in a week… which, as we all know, means that some find themselves changed from the beautiful yellow fruit we adore… to this.

Still beautiful, right?  For banana bread. I purposely let these little guys brown and then popped them in the freezer.  These frozen bananas are actually a lot sweeter when they turn brown and are truly ripe.  They are more mushier, so I use them for the banana bread.

I try not to waste anything I bring into the house… (see Quick and Easy Crouton recipe).  When I lived in Chicago my roommates and I would save the black bananas in the freezer for banana bread.  When you’re ready to bake a loaf, just take out your frozen (beautifully colored) bananas and defrost them for the recipe.  I promise it won’t kill you… or the bread.

Banana Bread (makes 1 loaf)

  • 1 1/2 cup flour
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/4 teaspoon baking powder
  • 5 1/3 tablespoon butter
  • 2/3 cup sugar
  • 2 large eggs
  • 1 1/2 cup ripe banana, mashed
  • 1/2 cup chopped walnuts (optional)
  • 1/2 cup chocolate chips (optional)
  1. Preheat the oven to 350 degrees
  2. Whisk together flour, salt, baking soda, and baking powder in a large bowl.
  3. In a separate bowl, beat on high speed butter and sugar until lighted in color.  Beat in the flour mixture until the consistency of brown sugar.  I should be crumbly and dry.
  4. Add the eggs in one at a time and beat until combined.
  5. Finally, fold in the mashed banana.  If you want, add in the walnuts and/or chocolate chips too!
  6. Scrape the batter into a greased loaf pan and bake until a toothpick comes out clean… about 50-60 minutes.
  7. Allow the bread to cool about 5-10 minutes before removing from the pan.
Leave a Reply

