Zopf Bread

The first time I made this recipe I was in college when my friends and I made Easter dinner together.   It is a braided swiss white bread.  I loved how soft and dense the bread is and also how beautiful it looks with the braid!  Not to mention, your entire house smells heavenly from baking it!!

I was lucky enough to get this recipe from my wonderful friend Laura… and I think about her every time I make it — Thanks La!!   Her family absolutely loves bread… and cheese (I think that’s part of the reason we get along so well!).  To me, they are the experts on both. I can’t remember a time going to their home in Wisconsin and not eating fresh baked bread from their oven.

Zopf Bread (makes one loaf)

  • 4 cups flour
  • 3/4 stick butter (melted)
  • 3/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1 package of yeast
  • 2 teaspoons sugar
  • 1 1/4 cup milk
  • 1 egg
  1. Mix the years, cold milk, melted butter, sugar, salt, and beaten egg together in the bowl of an electric mixer until combine.  Add the flour and knead with a dough hook for 3 minutes.
  2. Place the dough in a greased bowl, cover,  and allow to rise until doubled.  This should take about an hour.
  3. Once dough has risen, divide into three equal pieces.  Shape each piece into a rope.  Form a bread.
  1. Place the braided dough on a greased cookie sheet and cover for 15 minutes.
  2. Then brush with egg yolk.
  3. Bake at 350 degrees for 40 minutes or until golden brown.
Leave a Reply

