Key Lime Pie

As promised (and midweek too — can you believe it?) here is my lime inspired recipe!  If you only knew the week that I have had so far… late nights planning, kids gone wild, and our second grade open house.   Oh my goodness it is only Wednesday.  It’s a good thing I’ll have the product of my cooking for snacking tomorrow!  (Did I mention spring break is only 9 days away?)

I absolutely love lime.  Limeade, lime popsicles, a wedge of lime in my club soda.  But this… yes this… is my favorite way to take lime: key lime pie.  This key lime pie is not your typical version… It has two layers: a baked layer and a chilled layer.  The homemade granola and graham cracker crust is to die for.

My mother and I first made this key lime pie together for an Easter while I was in high school.  Since then it has been a family favorite and one that we share with friends often.  While in college I lived across from a house of guys on our college football team.  For someone who likes to cook a LOT, but doesn’t want to be packing it on herself, this couldn’t have been planned better.  These guys were always hungry!  So, I brought this over their house one night to share with the people that had gathered.  Within moments it had been snatched by one of the guys and taken to a chair in the corner where he proceeded to eat it all right out of the pan with a fork.  It became regularly requested after that.

Ingredients:

(crust)

  • 3/4 c granola
  • 3/4 c graham crackers
  • 1/4 c melted butter
  • 3 T sugar

(baked layer)

  • 14 oz. sweetened condensed milk
  • 1/2 c lime juice (key lime!)
  • 3 large egg yolks

(chilled layer)

  • 8 oz. cream cheese (softened)
  • 1/2 c sweetened condensed milk
  • 1/4 c lime juice
  • 2 T sugar
  • 1 t vanilla extract

For the Crust:

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees.  Using a food processor, blend the graham crackers in a food processor until crumbs.  Blend the granola in a food processor until coarsely ground.  Transfer it to a bowl and mix in the graham cracker crumbs, melted butter, and sugar. Press the mixture into the bottom of a 9″ deep dish pie plate.  Bake until golden brown… about 8 minutes.  Allow to cool completely!

Baked Layer:

Reduce the heat in the oven to 300 degrees.  Whisk the condensed milk, lime juice, and egg yolks in a medium bowl.

Pour into crust and bake for about 25 minutes, or until set.  Allow to cool to room temperature.

Chilled Layer:

With an electric mixer, beat the cream cheese, condensed milk, lime juice, sugar, and vanilla until smooth.

Pour over the cooled baked layer.  Smooth out the top.  Cover the pie and chill until firm… about 4 hours or so.

Before serving, if you’re feeling fancy, pipe some whipped cream around the edges.  I forgot whipped cream.  Have you noticed I’m never fancy?  I TOLD you I was plain… and maybe a bit forgetful too?

Leave a Reply

