For the Love of Citrus

So in my last post I talked about how I’ve come down with a case of spring fever.  And it’s bad.  Real bad.  A trip to Fort Worth, Texas helped a little bit.  The weather was about 30 degrees warmer… we drank sweet tea… walked around with no coats on …. dined on BBQ.  All the good things that come with my friend summer (by the way, where are you and when will you be here!?!).

But now that I’m back North… and the southern comforts that helped me keep it together last week are no longer comforting me… I turn to something else: citrus.  Think of all things citrus-y…. lemonade (summer drink), oranges and grapefruit (Florida = warm sunshine), key lime pie (words can’t describe), bay breeze cocktail (picture yourself pool side).  Surely this can help me satiate part of my need for summer cravings. Right?

So here it goes.  I, the Plain Girl, would like to introduce two of my very dear friends: lemon and lime.  They will be helping me to explore the power of the almighty citrus foods (and their influences on an everyday dish).

Lemon will be first up…  introducing (drum rollllllll) Lemon Chicken!

Ok, so this may be something you have had before.  Maybe you have even made it before.  But hear me out, this is one of those recipes that you will use over and over.  I came across this recipe a few years ago while nannying.  I cooked every night for the whole family, and I was searching for something new to whip up. I found this.  I made a few adjustments and I am SO pleased with the results.  I’m going to be plain straightforward… you will make this.  And you will love it.  No question. Promise.

So here’s how it works.

Ingredients:

  • 4 chicken breasts (I use skinless boneless)
  • 2 T white wine
  • 3 t lemon juice and 1 t lemon rind
  • extra lemons for garnish and flavor
  • 1/3 c parmesan cheese
  • 1/4 t pepper
  • 3/4 c light cream
  • parsley for garnish

1.  Get your chicken breasts out and trim any fatty pieces off.  I like to tenderize them a little bit.  Do this by covering in plastic wrap and then pounding with a rolling pin. (this rolling pin is one of my favorite kitchen tools… everyone should own this kind)

(seriously, if you don’t have one of these… RUN to the store and get one.  NOW!)

2.  Place butter in a pan and melt it over medium heat so the pan is covered. Place the chicken in the pan and saute for about 10 minutes or until golden and cooked through.

3.  Remove the chicken to a dish for broiling in the oven and then set aside.

4. Drain the butter from the pan and add the wine, lemon rind, and lemon juice.  Cook for one minute and add some salt and pepper.  Pour in the cream, stirring constantly, until heated through.

5.  Pour sauce over the chicken and sprinkle lightly with parmesan cheese.  Broil the chicken in the oven until lightly browned.  Watch this part carefully… broiling is a quick step!  (not a dance move).  I love this part of the recipe because the smell of the parmesan cheese floods the kitchen as it starts to bubble… mmmm.

6.  If you’re feeling extra fancy.. you can garnish your dish with an extra wedge of lemon and some parsley.  I was not feeling fancy… actually, I forgot to get parsley at the store.. woops.  But it still looks pretty, right?

Enjoy.  I know you will.  Stuck on what to serve it with?  I love accompanying this citrus-y chicken with rice pilaf and fresh steamed asparagus.  When the sauce mixes with the asparagus… Oh. My. Dear. God.

Check back later this week to see what I’ll whip up with my limes!

One thought on “For the Love of Citrus

  1. I have had the pleasure of tasting this delicious dish. It is every bit as good as it looks and the flavors anything but plain.

    This presentation is very helpful.

    I cannot wait until the next installment.

    I cannot….

Leave a Reply

